Tomas Holmstrom still shooting to play Tuesday

DETROIT — Quick update from the Wings’ morning skate, which had all of four skaters take part in.

Tomas Holmstrom did not skate, but was in the locker room receiving treatment for his groin tear.

Holmstrom, who suffered the injury in Nashville, was placed on short-term injured reserve Thursday. He has yet to start skating, but hopes to do so Monday

“It’s going better,” Holmstrom said. “It’s still sore but way better than yesterday and a couple days ago. They didn’t want me to skate today so I’ll probably skate Monday, for sure.”

He also hopes to play Tuesday in Dallas.

“That would be good,” Holmstrom said. “I’ve gotta skate first but most, the range and everything, I feel pretty strong. It’s just some stretching areas, it’s still sore and pain.”

Holmstrom said groins injuries have never been an issue for him.

“It’s just bad luck,” he said. “I hope (it won’t keep out a long time). The big test is when you’re skating and push away with the groin. I will be real disappointed if I couldn’t skate Monday and play Tuesday. I would like to get back at it now.”

Leave a comment