Ouellet knows when he’s called up it’s not to sit and watch in the stands

DETROIT >> Defenseman Xavier Ouellet knows if he’s called up from Grand Rapids he won’t be watching the Wings game in the stands.

Ouellet is set to play in his 10th game tonight when the Wings host the New Jersey Devils.

“He’s a good player,” Wings coach Mike Babcock said. “He knows how to play. He competes hard. Moves the puck, got good hockey sense. He’s been effective for us.”

Ouellet was recalled from the Griffins on Monday to take Jakub Kindl’s spot in the lineup. Kindl was placed on short-term injured reserve with a sprained elbow he suffered in practice Sunday.

“I’m still very excited every time I get called up,” Ouellet said. “That’s for sure. But I’m a little more used to it, that’s for sure, too. This is my 10th game here this year, so I feed good, I feel part of the guys. It’s easier and easier every time I get called back up.”

To put Ouellet’s season a bit more in perspective, defenseman Brian Lashoff has played in just 11 games this season.

“I know what’s coming and I just try to stay ready for it,” Ouellet said. “It feels good for sure. I don’t think they would call me up to put me in the stands. Every time they call me up I get ready to play and then they make their decisions. All I can do is play.”

In his previous nine games Ouellet has a goal, an assist and is a plus-3.

“He’s a good human being, great hockey player, he’s smart, he can make plays,” said Luke Glendening, who played with Ouellet in Grand Rapids. “He’s a good guy to have around for sure.”

Leave a Reply

