(Drew) Miller nearly gets one by (Ryan) Miller

DETROIT >> Drew Miller is still looking to score his first goal in the NHL on his older brother, Ryan.

Sunday he had his best opportunity to do so.

Late in the third period, Drew chipped a puck out of the Wings’ zone and raced onto it. Vancouver defenseman Luca Sbisa harassed him after crossing center ice and he wasn’t able to get off a quality shot he wanted on his brother, the Canucks netminder.

“I was just trying to beat their defenseman and the puck was rolling,” Drew said. “By the time I got there I really didn’t think I’d get a chance to make a move so I just tried to take a shot and get it on net. I don’t know, it was a good chance.”

Drew, who wound up with two shots on goal, is also looking to record his first NHL point on Ryan.

“It’s a fun game, had a couple of good shifts against him in the offensive zone,” Drew said. “I heard they showed (my parents on TV) right after, so I’m sure they were pretty funny reactions.”

Despite not scoring, Drew did run his record to 7-1-0 all-time against his older brother after Detroit’s 5-3 win. Six of those wins have come as a member of the Wings.

“It’s not something that I hold over his head, but he knows it’s there,” Drew said. “When the game’s over you’re still brothers. You don’t get to see each other that much.”

Leave a Reply

