Doesn’t appear Alfredsson will be ready to report to training camp on time

DETROIT >> Daniel Alfredsson continues to be absent during the Wings’ informal on-ice skates at Joe Louis Arena.

“My instincts would probably say that I’m not sure he’ll be able to report to camp on Wednesday,” Wings general manager Ken Holland said during a phone interview Monday. “I want to see how he’s feeling and talk to his agent. I also want to talk to Alfie in the next 24 hours.”

Alfredsson suffered a minor setback in his recovery from a nerve issue in his back.

He didn’t take at all last week and was unable to skate with the team Monday.

The Wings would like to sign Alfredsson to a one-year deal if he’s healthy, even if it’s just to play between 60-65 games.

“If we have to wait a little bit, we will,” Holland said last week. “It’s something minor, but at this point he doesn’t want to push it.”

Alfredsson, 41, could decide to go to camp without a contract in place before deciding on his future.

“I would love to play, there’s no question, but at the same time you have to listen to your body,” Alfredsson said a few weeks ago. “I’m hoping that I’ll know within the next week or two weeks.”

“If Alfie tells me he feels great and he wants to play hockey then we have to sit down and talk,” Holland said. “If he tells me on the 15th of September, ‘I feel good but you know what I’d like to go to training camp and see a bit more’ then I think we’re going to do it.”

Alfredsson had 18 goals and 31 assists in 68 regular season games, but didn’t record a point in the postseason.

Leave a Reply

