Hasek, Modano among six named to the Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2014

DETROIT >> Two former Detroit Red Wings, Dominik Hasek and Mike Modano, were selected to the Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2014 on Monday.

It was the pairs first year of eligibility to get in.

Peter Forsberg and Rob Blake were the other two former players that will be inducted along with the late coach Pat Burns and former referee Bill MCreary.

The induction ceremony is Nov. 17 in Toronto.

Hasek’s resume is impressive – six consecutive Vezina Trophies, given to the NHL’s top goalie; a two-time Hart Trophy winner, awarded to the league MVP; an Olympic gold medal.

“After I retired I really began to appreciate what the game did for me,” Hasek said in a release from the HHOF. “My goal was just to make the NHL, and achieving this recognition is far beyond what I could have imagined.”

Hasek, 49, ranks 11th all-time in wins (389), sixth in shutouts (81) and his .922 career save percentage is first among all goalies with at least 200 games.

He won the Cup with the Wings in 2002 and was a member of the 2008 Cup winning team, backing up Chris Osgood.

Hasek is the sixth player — Steve Yzerman, Chris Chelios, Brendan Shanahan, Brett Hull, Igor Larionov and Luc Robitaille — off the Wings’ 2001-02 roster to get entry into the Hall of Fame, along with coach Scotty Bowman.

Nicklas Lidstrom is a sure lock to be elected next year when he’s eligible.

Modano played one season in Detroit before retiring.

“When I played I always hoped that I could make an impact on the game, both on and off the ice, and this honor recognizes that,” Modano said in a statement. “I love this game and as an American-born player, I owe a lot to the people in Prince Albert (Saskatchewan) who helped me take my game to the next level.”

Modano is the NHL’s all-time leading scorer among U.S.-born players with 561 goals and 1,374 points.

Leave a Reply

