Alfredsson nominated for Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

DETROIT >> Daniel Alfredsson has been named the Detroit chapter of Professional Hockey Writers’ Association candidate for this season’s Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

The annual award is given to the player that best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Alfredsson, who is a leading advocate for mental health causes, was a finalist for the award in 2012, but lost out to Montreal’s Max Pacioretty.

Two Red Wings – defenseman Brad Park (1983-84) and center Steve Yzerman (2002-03) – are past recipients of the award.

Alfredsson has 17 goals and 28 assists in 63 games this season with the Wings.

Detroit landed the long-time Ottawa Senator on the first day of free agency, inking him for one year at $3.5 million plus $2 million in bonuses that would bring the deal up to $5.5 million.

Alfredsson spent his entire career, 17 seasons, with the Senators.

The award is named for former Minnesota North Stars center Bill Masterton, whose 1968 death was the result of a head injury suffered in an NHL game.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s