Datsyuk’s return to lineup appears to be heading in the right direction

The Wings don’t know when they’re getting Pavel Datsyuk back in the lineup, but it appears it could happen sooner rather than later.

Datsyuk skated on his own at Joe Louis Arena Monday with the watchful eye of general manager Ken Holland to witness his many strides.

“I didn’t talk to him after, but he looked good on the ice,” Holland said.”

Friday marks the three-week timeframe that the team shut him down to help heal his ailing knee.

“At some point in time in next few days I’ll sit down with Piet Van Zant, Doug Plagens, Pav and I and we’ll see what the next plan is but certainly for a first time on the ice he looked good,” Holland said.

Datsyuk last played on Feb. 27.

“He’s a superstar, Holland said. “Pav at 80 percent is pretty good.

“I want to see how he’s feeling,” Holland continued. “I haven’t really asked him. I’ve got my fingers crossed that the time off and the things they did with him are going to give us a positive result. He told me (last) Friday he was going on the ice Monday so that was encouraging.”

Datsyuk has 15 goals and 18 assists in 39 games this season.

“We’ve got to test it out,” Holland said. “I’m sure he’s in the testing out mode. How long is it until he plays, I don’t know. We’ve got to find out if the plan is to play or when it is to play. I don’t have any information.”

The other bit of injury news is that the plan is for Justin Abdelkader (leg laceration) could return to practice by the end of the week and could return to the lineup at the latest, April 2 at home against the Boston Bruins.

The Wings also re-assigned Cory Emmerton to Grand Rapids.

Leave a Reply

