Using hockey as a distraction

DETROIT — Tomas Tatar arrived in Detroit late Thursday after attending his father’s funeral in Slovakia.

“Hockey makes me think of something else other than my dad,” Tatar said. “The guys have been really helpful, coach has been great, and management was really good. I’m happy to be back and go back to playing.

“It’s obviously really hard, home was kind of depressing,” Tatar added. “The weather, then with what happened, it was really kind of grayish.”

Tatar, who arrived back in town late Thursday, hopes to eventually move his family here.

“I’m real tired with all the travel and time change, but it won’t be an excuse for me,” Tatar said. “I’m getting ready for the game and doing everything I can to be the best. It’s easier to forget this way when I have something to do. I’ve got great people around me. This will stay in my mind for a little awhile. This is going to help me.”

Leave a Reply

