Datsyuk named captain of Russian team

DETROIT — Pavel Datsyuk was named captain of the Russian Olympic team for this year’s Winter Games in Sochi, Russia.

“Fantastic, it’s a great honor and deservingly so,” Wings coach Mike Babcock said.

This is Datsyuk’s fourth Olympic appearance.

Henrik Zetterberg is also the captain for Sweden.

“We think (leadership is) a big part of what we’ve got going on here,” Babcock said. “Now obviously we’d like to get them all back and playing and all of those things but in the meantime it’s a great honor for him and for Z.”

Babcock is the coach of Canada.

“When I drive my vehicle and my work in my vehicle, that’s when I do my calls and my Olympic stuff,” Babcock said when asked how much he thinks about the Olympics. “Other than that, I mean, I watched the Rangers play last night. (Rick) Nash is in the game so I watched Nash play. I watched (Ryan) McDonagh he’s going to play for the U.S., but I was watching getting ready for the Red Wings’ game. So it was easy. When I was out in Anaheim I saw (Corey) Perry play. It’s straightforward I guess. (Jonas) Hiller was playing and it’s going to play for the Swiss. You just do your job and it’s straightforward.”

Leave a Reply

