Eaves dislocates his jaw in Winter Classic, never tested for concussion-like symptoms

DETROIT — Patrick Eaves suffered a dislocated jaw on the crosscheck he took from Toronto’s Joffrey Lupul in the first period Wednesday, but the best news is that he wasn’t treated for concussion-like symptoms.

“No testing for (a concussion),” Eaves said. “I felt good the whole time. It was just my (right) jaw. It didn’t feel good. A little scary there, but I’m ready to go now. It was pretty uncomfortable with my jaw being the way it was, my teeth weren’t lined up.”

Eaves wore protection around his jaw during practice and will do so Saturday in Dallas.

Lupul was assessed a $10,000 fine.

“I don’t really care,” Eaves said when asked if he felt Lupul should be suspended. “It’s not up to me. That’s for the league to decide. It has no impact on our upcoming games, that’s all I’m worried about.

“I wanted to play more in the game because it was a huge game,” Eaves continued. “He made the decision to do what he did. Nothing I could do about it. I didn’t see it coming. I was just trying to get the puck out.”

Leave a Reply

