Quincey avoids suspension

DETROIT — Kyle Quincey avoided suspension for his boarding penalty on Anaheim’s Ryan Getzlaf on Tuesday.

“At the last second I saw he was vulnerable so I let up,” Quincey said. “I didn’t finish my check, but obviously I still made contact with him. I think the ref definitely saw I let up as much as I could. We’re good friends, so I talked to him after the game. I’m just glad he’s OK.”

Quincey received a major penalty and a game misconduct.

“I actually believe it was a two-minute penalty until the ref saw the blood,” Quincey said. “I don’t think that helped. There was a fair amount of blood on the ice and on his face and I think that had a changing effect.”

Leave a Reply

