Engelland will have in-person hearing for hit on Abdelkader, Wednesday

DETROIT — That was quick.

Pittsburgh defenseman Deryk Engelland will indeed have an in-person hearing with the NHL Department of Player Safety on Wednesday after he was assessed a match penalty Saturday for a first period hit on Justin Abdelkader.

“He dumps it in and I try to finish my check,” Engelland said after the game. “Obviously I’m not trying to hit him in the head or anything like that, but I think I catch his chin a little bit before his body. Hopefully he’s all right. I had no intentions there to hurt anyone.”

The incident occurred late in the first period.

“It’s a quick play,” Engelland said. “It’s part of my game, playing physical. I’m not trying to target anyone’s head or anything like that. But whatever they do, you got to deal with it.”

Engelland was offered the opportunity for an in-person hearing as required by provisions of the CBA for any suspension that can exceed five games.

Leave a Reply

