Smith a healthy scratch a third straight game

DETROIT — Defenseman Brendan Smith knows while the team is winning his chance of getting back in the lineup are slim.

Smith sat for a third straight game Tuesday at home against the Columbus Blue Jackets.

“I think once it happens and the team keeps winning they usually stay with the same lineup they’ve had which is what they’ve been doing,” Smith said. “I think it’s the whole thing if it ain’t broke don’t fix it.”

Smith is a minus-4 in four games this season.

“I think there are things I need to work on, Smith said. “I think there are things you always need to work on. I’m definitely a minus-4, but I’ve watched all of them and I know none of those goals against have been my fault. That’s a good thing for me to know and look up to and to keep playing like that.

“Sometimes things like that effect you, but I’ve looked at them and I know that they’re not my fault,” Smith said. “There were some breakdowns and stuff. I’ve just got to play a little more safe. I think (against) Phoenix I had a few bad pinches. I just have to make sure when I get back in the lineup is just to play hard so I stay there.”

Smith’s frustration level hit a high Monday as 19 family members where there to watch him and his brother, Reilly, play against each other.

“That was a little frustrating, but that’s hockey, that’s life and stuff like that happens,” Smith said. “I’ve just got to stay positive and when I get my chance to get back in the lineup I’ve just to stay there.”

Leave a Reply

