Alfredsson given a maintenance day; Tatar ready if needed

DETROIT – Quick update from Detroit Red Wings practice Thursday afternoon.

Daniel Alfredsson didn’t practice, still bothered by a tender groin, but is expected to play Friday night in Carolina.

“Just a maintenance day, three games in four nights, so I’ll be ready to go tomorrow,” Alfredsson said. “I’m hoping to play every game.”

Alfredsson added he’ll play in back-to-back games as well.

“It’s the reality of being 40,” Alfredsson said. “Just being smart about it. I definitely would like to practice. I enjoy practice. But now with camp and starting the season with three in four you got to be careful.”

After the Hurricanes the Wings play at Boston on Saturday.

Tomas Tatar filled in on his line at practice.

“I don’t know what’s going to happen,” said Tatar, who was a healthy scratch in Wednesday’s opener. “I’m waiting to see, I think the lineup sheet will be up tomorrow.

“I’m getting in game shape with (assistant coach) Tom Renney out there,” Tatar added. “We’re trying to work after practice so I’m not out shape, we’re skating a lot. I’m ready. So whenever a spot will be open I’ll jump in there.”

Wings coach Mike Babcock made it known prior to the season opener he would be going with a more veteran lineup until those veterans are unable to perform to the level he wants.

“It’s the life,” Tatar said. “What can you do? I’m just trying to not get out of it, stay focused and be prepared.”

Leave a Reply

