Jurco has one broken rib, could miss up to a month

DETROIT >> The list of injured players just continues to grow inside the Detroit Red Wings locker room.

The latest, Tomas Jurco, will miss up to a month with a broken rib.

“It actually wasn’t bad (Wednesday),” said Jurco, who has five goals and five assists in 26 games this season. “It’s pretty sore (now). I didn’t really sleep well. I hope it’s gonna get better soon. (There’s) not much to do with the bones so we’ll see how quickly it’s gonna heal. We all hope it’s gonna be quick.”

Jurco, 21, has just one broken rib, compared to two that Jonathan Ericsson had earlier this season that sidelined him for 30 days.

“For sure, it’s bad timing,” said Juro, who averaged a point a game with Grand Rapids before being recalled. “For sure I wanted to play and try to help the team make the playoffs. Still I’m gonna (come) cheer for the boys and I think we can do it. Hopefully we’re gonna get there and hopefully it’s gonna take me a couple weeks and I can get back in a game.”

The injury occurred in the second period after getting crosschecked by Columbus’ Blake Comeau, was not penalized for disciplined for the incident.

“It happened too quick,” said Jurco, who was part of the Kid Line with Tomas Tatar and Riley Sheahan. “I didn’t see him coming. I kind of reached for the puck and I opened up my side and he crosschecked me. I don’t know if it was dirty. If (the) referee didn’t call it, I guess it was clean. I don’t want to comment if it was a bad call or something.”

Comeau did however receive a two-game suspension for boarding Brendan Smith in the first period of the 4-1 loss Wednesday to the Blue Jackets.

The Wings are now second in the league in man games lost at 286, according to mangameslost.com. Pittsburgh leads the league with 391.

“No sense in worrying about them, we have to win a game (Friday),” Wings coach Mike Babcock said. “That’s the way I look at it. When I looked in the room there were five centermen working out so that must mean we have nine here because there were four on the ice. What are you going to do? It’s part of the business, we have to suck it up and find a way to win.”

Jurco joins Henrik Zetterberg (back surgery), Pavel Datsyuk (knee), Jonas Gustavsson (groin), Darren Helm (concussion-like symptoms), Stephen Weiss (sports hernia surgery) and Daniel Cleary (knee).

2 responses to “Jurco has one broken rib, could miss up to a month

  1. If only the Red Wings had a guy on the team this season with the speed, grit, toughness, and willingness to drop the gloves to defend/stand up for his teammates to deter other teams from taking cheap shots. Probably could have saved some injuries. Someone like a Jordin Tootoo for example would fill that role great. If only the Wings had a player like that. Oh wait a minute…

Leave a Reply

