Weiss progressing well from sports hernia surgery

DETROIT >> Stephen Weiss (sport hernia) has been on the ice every day this week.

“I’m just going to slowly, keep progressing, keep cranking it up so I’m ready to go when I get the OK,” Weiss said. “I’m very pleased. I’m really amazed how fast this thing goes. You go from feeling terrible to skating not long after that. I was walking on the treadmill maybe a week to 10 days ago and know I’m on the ice five days in a row.”

Weiss is targeted to return after the Olympic break.

“It progresses pretty quickly, but the key is to not fool yourself into thinking everything is great,” Weiss said. “There was still some work down in there so you need to take it slow. I’m happy with how it’s going.”

He could resume practicing with the team by next week.

Leave a Reply

