Todd Bertuzzi insists latest injury not his back

DETROIT — Pavel Datsyuk and Todd Bertuzzi both didn’t practice Tuesday and both will miss Wednesday’s game.

Datsyuk suffered what’s believed could be a concussion late in third period of Saturday’s 4-2 loss to the Senators after taking an elbow to the jaw by Ottawa defenseman Jared Cowan.

He’s likely out Friday (at New York Islanders) and Sunday (at Ottawa Senators) as well.

“He’ll go through the process,” Wings coach Mike Babcock said. “We’ll talk to him after that. I think he had a light ride or something today. I don’t remember exactly what all the protocol is, but he’ll go through it and we’ll see what happens.”

Bertuzzi is out with an upper-body injury, which isn’t his back.

“It’s probably a little bit more than day-to-day but obviously I hate missing games and I don’t want to be out but at the same time I’ve been playing with it for about a week and a half now so I couldn’t do it anymore,” Bertuzzi said.

The injury occurred last Tuesday against Nashville.

“I was on a bad angle and went to make a pass and (Shea) Weber caught me on a tough angle and it kept flaring up from there and getting worse and worse each game,” Bertuzzi said. “That’s why it’s frustrating not playing. I’ve spent enough time in this room in civilian clothes and that’s not fun. But if I can’t go out there and contribute and play the way I need to play I’m basically just a sitting pylon out there. Might as well get it healthy now and hopefully in the next little while it’ll settle down and I can get back out there and play.”

Leave a Reply

