Helm hopes to be on ice soon

TRAVERSE CITY – Darren Helm still has no time frame on when he’ll return to the ice from his recent groin setback, but hopes he can get in the lineup before the preseason games are over.

“My groin’s feeling a lot better, range of motion’s pretty much as good as it can be,” Helm said. “(I) still feel it on a couple of things.”

Helm hasn’t skated since Sept. 6.

“I don’t think I’ll be out for the whole exhibition,” Helm said. “I’m hoping a few more days. I have to get back on the ice and see how the groin is, see how my back still is. I’m waiting to see.”

Helm is still limited in his weight training and has yet to be cleared for contact due to his ailing back. He’ll more than likely start the regular season on injured reserve.

Leave a Reply

