Quote of the day … Mike Babcock

TRAVERSE CITY – Wings coach Mike Babcock on his decision to put Daniel Cleary on line with Joakim Andersson and Gustav Nyquist, which bumped Todd Bertuzzi off that line.

“I didn’t spend a whole lot of time looking, I look at my lines going ahead, I look at guys who have a chance to play in the NHL and I try to put them in good spots,” Babcock said. “I planned on playing Cleary and (Pavel) Datsyuk and (Henrik) Zetterberg and still might do that. I also planned on having (Darren) Helm in the three hole, maybe with (Justin) Abdelkader, but we have eight exhibition games to figure all this out.

“These are walk-throughs for me,” Babcock continued. “They have four and five opportunities in exhibition to grab their chunk of the ice time. We give everyone an opportunity on the power play and penalty kill, we go through everything so that when you leave here you know you were given an opportunity. The ball’s in your court.”

Leave a Reply

