Brian Lashoff: “I’ve played about 70 games this year and to have it slow down so quickly is kind of weird for me.”

DETROIT — Rookie defenseman Brian Lashoff thought he was heading to Grand Rapids to play some games.

However, had he been sent to the Griffins he would have only been able to be recalled on an emergency basis. That’s because the Wings used their maximum four recalls after the April 3 trade deadline.

“Ultimately I want to be in the NHL and I want to be an NHL player,” Lashoff said. “It’s a tough situation with rules and stuff like that, but at the end of the day I really can’t worry about that. I’ve just got to prepare to play and hopefully I’ll get back in the lineup here and get another opportunity. My goal is to stay and get another opportunity.”

Lashoff has been a healthy scratch in five straight games.

“I’ve played about 70 games this year and to have it slow down so quickly is kind of weird for me,” Lashoff said. “I’ve just to keep feeling as good as I can so when I do get that opportunity I’m ready and won’t be second guessing myself. Things can change in a day. That’s just the way it is.”

Leave a Reply

