Darren Helm wants to play, but he knows team has to be prepared for his season possibly being over

DETROIT — Forward Darren Helm (back) skated before practice and for the first few minutes with the team before leaving.

Wings coach Mike Babcock said Tuesday that he wasn’t planning on having Helm back this season.

“I thought he might have put it that he can’t really count on me being ready to play or he’s got to be prepared for me not to play,” Helm said. “I want to play. I think he’d still like me to get healthy and be in the lineup but right now it’s been three months and it hasn’t changed so he can’t expect me to make a remarkable recovery, so just be prepared not to.”

Forwards Mikael Samuelsson (sore pectoral muscle) skated briefly after practice, while Todd Bertuzzi (pinched nerve) hasn’t practiced in two days.

Wings general manager Ken Holland said Bertuzzi has gone for another opinion on his back.

Leave a Reply

