Quenneville recalls time playing against Gordie Howe

DETROIT — The Wings celebrated Gordie Howe’s 85th birthday by wearing No. 9 jerseys during the pre-game skate.

Chicago coach Joel Quenneville had this to say about the Wings legend, “Gordie, I got to know him. I got to play against him. He was kind of part of our coaching/managing staff when I was in Hartford when I was there.”

Quenneville also played with one of Howe’s sons, Marty.

“I got to see him a lot in the summertime,” he said. “He’s an amazing man. In our game today, when you get to be late 30s and then you’re in your 40s or 50s, I think the joy I got out of it was getting to play with his kids. I think that’s probably the most memorable thing I went through. The guy was a strong man and he enjoyed playing the game.”

Then Quenneville was asked if it bothered him to have played against a guy who just turned 85 to which he responded, “How about playing against a guy who’s 50-something?

“He whacked me a few times,” Quenneville added. “He cut me up once, too, with his stick. He was pretty good.”

Leave a Reply

