Spreading out the ice time

DETROIT — One thing is becoming evidently clear to Wings coach Mike Babcock, he’s got to start limiting the ice time of his top six forwards.

“I thought they did a good job for us,” Babcock said when asked about the play of his bottom two lines in Wednesday’s overtime loss to the St. Louis Blues. “Bottom line is I’ve got to get them on the ice more. That’s my fault, not their fault, because they did good enough things to be on the ice more.”

Henrik Zetterberg had the most ice time of all skaters at 24:18, Damien Brunner and Pavel Datsyuk each we just over 20 minutes.

“I got them out there for about 10 minutes apiece, which to me isn’t enough, because I would have liked to have played that one group for sure a couple (more) minutes and I didn’t do it,” Babcock said.

Leave a Reply

