Kindl in for Lashoff to aid power play; Colaiacovo skates for a bit

DETROIT – Wings coach Mike Babcock has decided to put defenseman Jakub Kindl back in the lineup and sitting Brian Lashoff.

“He’s got to move the puck,” Babcock said. “He’s a skilled guy on the back. He’s got to shoot the puck. The big thing is he’s got to grab a piece of the action. That’s up to him. That’s what these opportunities are for. You’ve got to reach out and grab hold of something and then make it your own. If you don’t, you’re not in the lineup.”

The move is help Detroit anemic power play, which is 2-for-26 this season.

Kindl was a healthy scratch Sunday.

“When you look around, our back end we have two guys out, definitely it’s an opportunity,” Kindl said. “I’ve just got to take it and just be ready for it. Whenever I get the chance I just have to show I can play.”

Valtteri Filppula (knee) will play.

“Obviously the pace is pretty tough right now, so we’re trying to rest a little more when we have a chance with practice days,” Filppula said. “But it’s been pretty good at games, so I’m happy about that.”

Defenseman Carlo Colaiacovo (separated left shoulder) skated for a bit on his own. He was injured in the Wings’ first game on a check against the boards.

“As soon as I start to get more movement out of it I’ll hit the ice.”

It’s the same shoulder he sprained at Spengler Cup on hit from Damien Brunner.

“I just got hit, from the impact from the hit, I couldn’t move it,” Colaiacovo said. “I knew right away that it was the same shoulder. It felt a lot worse. Very frustrating at the time, still is, but just got to come to the rink, put a smile on my face every day, work my rear off to get back in the lineup as soon as I can.”

Colaiacovo has yet to play more than 67 games in any season.

“It’s been a tough first week, even just trying to sleep,” Colaiacovo said. “That’s the only thing I can continue to do, off the ice continue to get better, healthy and get myself ready to get back as quick as I can.

“It’s a tough way to start,” Colaiacovo added. “I want to be out there as bad as anything right now. It’s a good motivation for me to keep myself going, work off the ice, get it stronger.”

Leave a Reply

