Ian White: “It could have been a lot worse.”

DETROIT — Ian White returned to the locker room Friday after severing a tendon in his left knee in Tuesday’s loss to the Dallas Stars.

“It’s kind of depressing that something like this happens so early in the season when you start getting your legs under you and have a setback for a couple of weeks,” White said. “It doesn’t make you feel very good. But other than I’m in good spirits.”

White, who will be out 2-3 weeks, has yet to watch the video of the incident, but he knew right away it was bad.

“I was the third man back, it was a two-on-two, I think one of our guys got beat and they were taking the puck to the net and I kind of started crashing the net,” White recalled. “Howie made a great save and I took the heel of his skate right at the top of the knee.

“It could have been a lot worse,” White continued. “You have a tendon going right over your knee cap. It just missed it. I guess if I would have cut that I might have been the season. Lucky, if you will.”

Leave a Reply

