Ins and outs: Samuelsson (groin) and Helm (back) likely out Tuesday; Eaves cleared for camp, but not games

PLYMOUTH – Forwards Mikael Samuelsson (tender groin) and Darren Helm (back) both missed the second day of training camp.

“Groins I hear all of the time are day-to-day and then 10 days later the guy comes back,” Babcock said of Samuelsson’s injury. “So, we’ll see what happens.
“We’re playing 48 games in 98 days,” Babcock continued. “So I wouldn’t miss. If you do, someone else is playing. I don’t worry about that stuff. We’re going to worry about who’s ready to play and we’re going to try to do what’s important today to get a win. That’s what we’re going to do.”

Helm hasn’t been on the ice since last Wednesday. The earliest he could return is Thursday.

Patrick Eaves took part in his second straight of training camp after being cleared to do so.

“I feel good,” said Eaves, who has yet to be cleared for game action. “I haven’t had any headaches since camp started so things are going well.
“I’m just trying to get better every day and just to get used to playing every day,” Eaves continued. “I’m just trying to get back up to speed. I feel good out there.”

Eaves did take part in special teams drills, working on a penalty-killing unit with Jordin Tootoo.

“It was good, just to get back to that speed again,” Eaves said. “I haven’t been in those situations for a while so it was good.
“It’s been a good learning experience and a test of patience,” Eaves continued. “I still haven’t fully been cleared yet. I’m just hoping to continue to get better every day.”

Leave a Reply

