Eaves has no timetable to return

TROY — It’s been more than 13 months since Patrick Eaves suffered a concussion and broken jaw when he was hit on the side of his head from a shot by Nashville’s Roman Josi.

But he’s not yet ready to resume his career.

“I gave up on the timetable a while ago,” Eaves said. “When I come back I want to be done with everything, make sure I’m good to go.”

Eaves, who continues to skate with teammates, still experiences headaches and has yet to be cleared to play.

“I feel like I’m getting better,” Eaves said. “My dad had concussion problems when he played. I’ve talked to him a little bit. He had to retire due to concussions, but I’m not at that point by any means. He’s just been a good sound board for me.”

Eaves draws hope from former teammate Andreas Lilja, who missed 12 months due to a concussion.

“He took his time and did it right and seems to be fine,” Eaves said.

Leave a Reply

