Chelios not a candidate for Wings’ assistant coaching job: “I’m not ready to take over a full responsibility job like that.”

DETROIT – Take one name off the list of possible candidates to assist Red Wings coach Mike Babcock behind the bench next season – Chris Chelios.

“I’m not ready to take over a full responsibility job like that,” Chelios said in a phone interview Tuesday. “I think I’m two years away from actually taking a full-time job again.”

The Wings have a vacancy behind the bench after they named Jeff Blashill as the Grand Rapids Griffins head coach on Monday. Blashill was an assistant in Detroit for one season.

“I can honestly say I would hope to find a position like that in my future, but right now I’m pretty content with having that freedom of going to see my kids play,” Chelios said.

Chelios worked with the Griffins’ young defensemen last year, on and off the ice. He was in Grand Rapids between two and three days a week and attended nearly every home game.

Chelios also helped in the press box, sending down information to the coaching staff regarding special teams.

“Obviously there’s been a coaching change in Grand Rapids with Blash going down there and taking over as head coach, so I haven’t had a chance to talk to him yet,” said Chelios, who did make a few of the road trips with the Griffins. “I’m sure we will. I’d like to be asked back to coaching again.”

Chelios holds the record for most games played by a defenseman (1,651) and finished tied with Gordie Howe for most seasons played in the NHL (26).

Leave a Reply

