Patrick Eaves: “It’s a slow process but I think I’m getting better.”

DETROIT — Patrick Eaves said it, “I’ll be ready to go next year.”

Eaves has suffered from post-concussion symptoms after breaking his jaw on Nov. 26 when he was hit on the right side of his head going down on one knee to block a rising shot of Nashville’s Roman Josi.

“It’s a slow process but I think I’m getting better,” Eaves said. “It’s been baby steps every day. I’m having less and less headaches and able to work out a little harder. I’ve just got to stay with it. It’s all symptom-related, as soon as symptoms starts to go down I can do more without getting worse then I can move on.”

Eaves did skate a couple times with the Black Aces during the playoffs, but was unable to finish a full practice.

“I still have a ways to go but I’ll be ready next season,” Eaves said. “I’m very confident I’ll be ready. We have some time here I can recover and get treatment. I should be ready to go.”

Leave a Reply

