Brad Stuart: “There’s a lot of other factors other than hockey.”

DETROIT – Quick quote from defenseman Brad Stuart, who is an unrestricted player and has been rumored to want to play the rest of his career on the West Coast.

“The situation isn’t normal, do I want to stay or do I want to not stay? There’s a lot of other factors other than hockey,” Stuart said. “That’ll be something that over the next little while I’ll have to figure out. I love it here. Yeah, if it was a purely hockey decision, I would stay. But I’ve got other things to consider and other factors other than just hockey. Those are things I guess I’ll have to figure out in the next month and a half.

“I’ve been living here, my family’s been in California,” Stuart added. “I’ve got a stepdaughter that needs to finish high school so that’s how it is. There’s really no way to get around that. I guess it’ll be up to me to kind of decide what needs to be done. It’s been a tough couple of years. As much fun and as great as it’s been to play here, it’s been equally as tough not he family side of it. Those are things I’d like to consider, at least try to fix.”

Leave a Reply

