Quincey gets one game

DETROIT — Defenseman Kyle Quincey got a one-game suspension for his elbowing major on former Wing Tomas Kopecky in Sunday’s 2-1 shootout win over the Florida Panthers.

It’s the first time Quincey has been suspended. Quincey said Sunday he had never received this type of penalty before.

The incident occurred at 5:38 of the third period at the Wings’ blue line and against the boards. Detroit had just tied the game eight seconds earlier.

“It’s so important for me to play these last three games to just keep getting accustomed to systems and the guys,” Quincey said after the game. “I’m really hoping I can play next game.”

Quincey, who was a healthy scratch last Friday against Nashville, will miss Wednesday’s game in St. Louis.

“You don’t want to hurt anybody,” Quincey said. “I’m real happy he wasn’t hurt on the play. I just tried to make a good body check. I don’t know if he slipped, but I think he was falling when I went to hit him and his head hit me in the hip or like low here (forearm). I just tried to make a good body check and I’m glad he’s OK.”

Quincey and Kopecky were teammates in Grand Rapids for a couple years.

“He just elbowed me in the face,” Kopecky said afterwards. “I thought that was the kind of thing we want to eliminate from the game. I don’t know if he meant to do it or not … We’ve had meetings to try to prevent these things.”

Quincey is the second Wing to be suspended this season for an on-ice incident.

Brendan Smith was suspended five regular season games for his hit to the head of Chicago’s Ben Smith in a preseason game.

Leave a Reply

