Kyle Quincey: “Obviously you want to be playing, you’re a hockey player. I would like to be playing.”

DETROIT – Defenseman Kyle Quincey perplexed in being a healthy scratch tonight against Nashville.

“I don’t know what the plan is,” Quincey said when asked if there was a rotation on the blue line. “You guys are telling me more than I know. I’ll just come to the rink everyday and work hard.

“I’m not surprised,” Quincey added. “We have seven great D. It is what it is. Obviously you want to be playing, you’re a hockey player. I would like to be playing.”

Wings coach Mike Babcock said this was the plan all along with the defensemen.

“We have seven D, we believe we really have depth,” Babcocks said. “I told the D before the Columbus game we’re going to have a rotation. I wouldn’t spend a whole lot of time worrying about that. I thought Kuba’s been playing great his last 5-6 games so you’ll see a different guy out the next game.

“Anytime you come to a new team you try to settle down and get playing, but I think he’s been fine,” Babcock continued. “He probably mirrors our team. Our team hasn’t been great. We haven’t given up a bunch during this stretch, 26 shots a game, but we’re not scoring goals. Anytime you make a mistake when you don’t score goals, you look like you made a mistake. So I wouldn’t spend a whole lot of time worrying about this. We’re going to have everybody ready to go come playoff time.”

Leave a Reply

