Howard excited to be back

DETROIT – After just playing in three of the Wings’ 11 games, Jimmy Howard is excited to get back into action tonight against the Nashville Predators.

“I’m just going out there and forgetting about the past here, the last month and a half,” Howard said. “I think I’m prepared, I’ve been working hard to get back there, I’ve been working hard on the ice. I’m just going to go out there and play.”

With two groin injuries and a broken index finger, Howard has played in just eight of the Wings’ last 25 games.

“Everyone wants to feel great going into the playoffs,” Howard said. “What’s going to be key for me over the next four games is getting back to where I was before the injuries. Today was the date from the start we were targeting. Four to five games left, chance to get back out there and get into game shape.”

The team wanted to wait until Howard’s groin was fully healed before rushing him back.

“The second time around we took a different approach, more strengthening it, it feels a lot stronger out there,” Howard said. “I know what I’m capable of doing out there. It’s just going out there and doing it again. Being on and off for a month a half and not playing a lot, but I’ve been able to practice a lot. I think that’s key for me because I always practice the way I play, going out there and working hard translates into games.”

One response to “Howard excited to be back

  1. Pingback: Howard back in goal for Detroit tonight | ProHockeyTalk

Leave a Reply

