Sheahan ready to begin pro career

DETROIT — Wings prospect Riley Sheahan is ready to begin his professional career.

Sheahan withdrew from Notre Dame after finishing his junior season and is headed to Grand Rapids on an amateur tryout as a contract is being negotiated.

“It was a great ride, I had a lot of fun, it was just time to make a decision to move on,” Sheahan said. “Hockey is what I want to do with my life. I think this is the best step. I had a great time, great coach. Just time I thought to move on.

“It was really hard,” Sheahan added of his decision to leave Notre Dame. “I made so many good friendships there, I had a good relationship with the coaching staff. Everyone was real supportive with my decision. It was tough but at the same time everyone was understanding.”

Sheahan , a 6-foot-1, 202-pound center, was taken by the Wings in the first round, 21st pick overall, in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft. In 114 games with Notre Dame, Sheahan had 20 goals and 44 assists.

“I’m supposed to be flying out there (to meet team),” Sheahan said. “Hopefully I’ll be there Thursday and practice with the team for a while and hopefully find myself in the lineup soon.

“Little parts of my game definitely have been on the up,” Sheahan added. “Still lots of things I have to do to improve. It was a great spot for me to develop at Notre Dame. It’s just going to go up from there.”

Sheahan had 49 goals and 85 assists in two seasons in the Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League.

“I still think there’s a lot of room to (improve offensively),” Sheahan said. “Playing a schedule with more games and being on the ice in that competitive environment, I think that will help my offensive game more. It’s something I’m looking forward to.”

One response to “Sheahan ready to begin pro career

  1. This is great news he is gonna be a great asset to Grand Rapids for the next few years

Leave a Reply

