Darren Helm fears his left leg injury could be serious

DETROIT – The Wings’ list of walking wounded continues to grow.

Add Darren Helm to the list now.

Helm suffered a left knee or leg injury late in the third period of Saturday’s overtime loss to the San Jose Sharks in a collision with Dominic Moore.

The injury, which the team is calling a lower-body injury, concerns Helm.

“I’m a little bit concerned,” Helm said. “More than I want to be right now. It’s pretty close to the end of the season. I was hoping I’d be healthy and playing my best going into the playoffs. That obviously is not going to be the case.

“Hopefully, I’ll be healthy and ready to play the first game of the playoffs,” Helm continued. “Hopefully I’ll be ready before that. I don’t know how long it’s going to take. We’ll find out on Monday.”

Helm is expected to have an MRI performed Monday.

“I was going to hit Moore, but I kind of didn’t take the best angle on him,” Helm said. “He kind of jumped out of the way a little bit, trying to avoid the hit and we just kind of collided. I was trying to hit him pretty good and he got out of the way. It was just one of those funky collisions. I was in pain right away.”

Helm tried to skate during a break, but went right to the dressing room.

“As soon as I jumped on I knew right away I couldn’t go,” Helm said. “I’ve had similar injuries, but this is more painful than other times.”

This could just be another blow to the Wings’ lineup, which just got Pavel Datsyuk back from arthroscopic knee surgery. The team is without Nicklas Lidstrom (ankle), Jonathan Ericsson (wrist), Jakub Kindl (oblique muscle), Johan Franzen (back spasms) and Joey MacDonald (back spasms).

“We need to get a break with some injuries here,” Wings coach Babcock said. “Get Mule and E and Nick back and we can be the kind of team we’re capable of being because we’re not as good right now. It’s gone on long enough, we need to get rolling.”

The Wings recalled Gustav Nyquist from Grand Rapids. Nyquist leads the Griffins with 58 points.

“That’s the way it works sometimes,” Henrik Zetterberg said of the team’s injuries. “First three-quarters of the season we were really healthy. We get injuries through the course of the year, hopefully everyone will be back for the playoffs.”

Leave a Reply

