Howard to start against Kings; Lidstrom, Datsyuk out two more games

Jimmy Howard is the only injured Wing ready to return Tuesday against the Los Angeles Kings.

“We need to get bodies back out there,” said Howard, who will start against the Kings. “We’ve been pretty depleted for a while now, but the guys have done a tremendous job to keep us within striking distance.”

Todd Bertuzzi (groin strain) could possibly return Wednesday in Anaheim. Nicklas (deep bone bruise in right ankle) and Pavel Datsyuk (arthroscopic knee surgery) will miss the next two games and Jakub Kindl (strained oblique muscle) won’t play on three-game road trip.

“I could do a few laps, but still not where I want it to be to able to play a game or practice with the guys,” said Lidstrom, who skated for roughly five minutes Monday. “It’s day by day right now. You want to get a skate or two good skates in before you’re able to play again.”

Kindl got hurt against Chicago on March 4.

“I just tried to shoot the puck, I broke the stick, felt like something tweaked,” Kindl said. “I played through it and it got to the point where I just couldn’t do it.

“Even when I sneeze it hurts,” Kindl added. “When I’m walking it’s fine. But as soon as I put my stick in my hand or try to pass the puck, using my whole muscles, it hurts. So I just got to let it heal.”

Leave a Reply

