Lidstrom, Bertuzzi, Howard, Kindl all out for Friday

DETROIT — Quick update from Wings practice…

Wings coach Mike Babcock said Nicklas Lidstrom (bone bruise in ankle), Todd Bertuzzi (groin strain), Jimmy Howard (groin strain) and Jakub Kindl (upper body) won’t play Friday against the Los Angeles Kings.

“I’m not worried about (getting chemistry back),” Babcock said. “We have up 18 shots to Chicago the last time at home. We gave up 23 on the road and lost 3-2. We played well. Not concerned about that.

“We talked about our power play the other night after the game I was frustrated with it,” Babcock added. “Frustration is a waste of time so why the heck should I be frustrated. Took yesterday to regroup and get myself back on track. We have to freshen up our mind. Let’s get ready.”

Babcock expects Lidstrom and Bertuzzi back after this weekend.

Lidstrom and Howard both skated a bit on their own and Datsyuk took part in the full practice.

Datsyuk also skated a full practice.

“I feel good,” Datsyuk said. “Nice to comeback and skate with teammates. They helped me a lot. Not to much pressure. They slowed down I think making me feel better.

“Everyday I’m getting closer,” Datsyuk said. “That’s all I can say for sure. I (will) go with team to West Coast and we’ll see.
For sure not tomorrow. I’m on my way. A happy way.”

The team recalled Gustav Nyquist from Grand Rapids. He’ll start on a line with Justin Abdelkader and Danny Cleary.

“Based on what he has done up here there’s nothing to base it on,” Babcock said. “He’s been a dominate player wherever he has been. I think he’s eighth in scoring in the (AHL) and done a real good job. We expected him to hit the wall and he hasn’t he’s kept on going. We’re going to play him with Abby and Cleary to start the game and we’ll see how it goes.
He’s got unbelievable sense. Strong on the puck and good without it, he’s an NHL player.”

Jonathan Ericsson (fractured wrist) also took part in the full practice, but isn’t expected back soon.

“It’s a little bit restricted out there,” he said. “I’m just trying to be on the drills that I can be out there. I don’t want to lose too much with my conditioning or skating out there on the ice. Can’t do too much with the puck. I’m just trying to do what I can.

The Kings are battling for one of the final playoff spots, along with most of the teams in the Pacific Division.

“We play a good team in L.A.,” Babcock said. “Their whole division is battling for that last playoff spot. It’s going to be a tough game and we understand that and we’re looking forward to it.”

The Kings are three points behind division-leading Dallas.

Leave a Reply

