Lidstrom misses practice; Quincey looks as if he’ll go; Howard starts Friday

DETROIT – Quick update from practice Thursday.

Nicklas Lidstrom made adjustments to his skate, but he still was unable to skate in practice. It’s unlikely he’ll play Friday against Minnesota.

“We sent him back here for tests today,” Wings coach Mike Babcock said. “It’s still sore. We adjusted his skate so he could skate. So I don’t know. We’ll see tomorrow if he can skate.

“We have lots of guys here that can’t get their skates on so they get adjusted that you don’t know about, but since you knew about it before. He had (the skates) on today but it was an adjusted skate. But when you adjust something until you go and try it you’re not going.”

Kyle Quincey practiced and looked good. He hopes to return against the Wild after missing Tuesday with a groin injury.

“I felt good today so if it keeps getting better I’m optimistic I can play Friday,” Quincey said. “I’m not a doctor, I’ll let them deal with the medical stuff. That was a tough practice and I felt good.

“Something was on the scan or whatever and they decided to play it safe,” Quincey added. “It’s up to them. I really don’t know how it happened. I went as hard as I could out there so that’s a good sign. I felt good. If it gets better tomorrow we should be good.”

Jimmy Howard will start in goal. He’s 0-2-1 since returning from a broken index finger.

“I thought I’ve played well in the three games, it’s just that sometimes this game can be cruel,” Howard said. “You feel like you deserve to win, you played good enough to win, but it doesn’t happen. Just find a way to keep plugging out there and we do a good job of finding the back of the net so it’s just a matter of time.”

Leave a Reply

