Quincey backing off statements regarding his former team, Colorado

DETROIT – Kyle Quincey remembers the first time he played against a former team, the Detroit Red Wings.

Saturday night he’ll face another one when the Colorado Avalanche visit Joe Louis Arena.

“I remember the first time I came back here I was squeezing the stick pretty hard,” Quincey said. “I think the biggest challenge is going to be going back to Pepsi Center, but I’m looking forward to it. Last night was a very frustrating way to end that game and I’m just looking forward to getting a win as a Red Wing. It’s just very exciting, it’s a very exciting time right now and just looking forward to tomorrow.”

On Tuesday, Quincey was dealt from Colorado to Tampa Bay and then to Detroit, where he began his NHL career.

Quincey may also have other issues to deal with after being quoted by yahoo.com regarding things in the Avalanche locker room. He told the Web site, “Everyone is ready to get shipped out any day. There’s a lot of guys, their bags are packed beside the door, and they wouldn’t be unhappy to go – trust me. I know I had a big smile on my face, and all the guys were jealous. I think there’s a bunch of guys that were pissed off they weren’t in a package deal.”

After practice Friday, Quincey said his quotes were taken out of context.

“I didn’t mean any of that and the stuff that I said about guys having their bags packed … it wasn’t all in Colorado, it was the whole league,” Quincey said. “Everyone until Monday at 3 (p.m.) is pretty anxious, that goes for everybody, not just Colorado, everybody in the league.

“I don’t want to put any of my former teammates in hot soup, I regret saying the stuff that I did, but it wasn’t towards them,” Quincey added. “Colorado is an unbelievable place to play, I had a great time there, I love it there, I bought a house there, and that’s my home now, so the last thing I want to do is get them upset with me.”

In the trade the Avalanche made an upgrade at forward in acquiring Steve Downie from the Lightning. Colorado is still very much in the playoff race, sitting in 11th before playing Columbus Friday, just two points out of eighth.

“They’re in a dogfight and they’re not out of it at all,” Quincey said. “There are so many teams in that race, but they are in it for sure and they’ve been in it for about two months now. I’ve been playing playoff hockey for two months now, so it’s been fun.”

In Quincy’s first game back in a Wings’ jersey he made his presence felt in Thursday’s shootout loss to Vancouver, playing in every situation possible. He logged 21:32of ice time, scored a goal and was whistled for two minor penalties.

“The second period with the two penalties, I’d like to have those back,” Quincey said. “They were weak penalties, not very good penalties by myself and I wanted to get that back, and scoring that goal was just an unbelievable feeling. I was hoping that it was going to be the game-winner.”

Leave a Reply

