Howard takes ice

DETROIT — Jimmy Howard was back on the ice skating after fracturing his right index finger against Vancouver. He did not however face any shots.

Howard saw doctors Wednesday, but was not given a timetable on when he can return to action.

“Every single day my finger is getting better,” Howard said. “I’m lucky being young enough where the bone is going to (heal) faster. Hopefully by the end of the week I’m out there taking shots. I’ve just got to deal with the pain.”

Howard said he’ll need to get a couple practices in before he can play, which will more than likely rule him out the rest of the week since the Wings’ won’t skate again until Friday morning prior to their game against Anaheim. Their next full practice won’t come till Saturday before playing Philadelphia on Sunday.

“I’d really love a couple of good practices before I get in there,” said Howard said. “I don’t want the timing can go away.”

Leave a Reply

