Filppula back in the Wings’ lineup

DETROIT — The Wings will get forward Valtteri Filppula back in the lineup tonight.

“I felt OK, just sore,” Filppula said after the team’s morning skate prior to tonight’s game against the Phoenix Coyotes. “I felt a lot better today than I did the last time I skated. Obviously, it freshly happened so it’s not good yet, but it’s a lot better than last time.”

Filppula left in the first period of Sunday’s loss in Colorado after sustaining a deep cut on his shin. He didn’t play Tuesday in St. Louis.

The Wings lost both games.

“I felt OK, it’s obviously sore but I felt a lot better than the last time I skated,” Filppula said after the morning skate.

Filppula is third on the team with 21 points (eight goals, 13 assists).

“I don’t know the lines,” Wings coach Mike Babcock said. “I know Helm and Cleary are playing together and Abdelkader is centering the fourth group. I’ll workout the rest come game time.”

Leave a Reply

