Commodore seems like an odd signing for Wings

DETROIT — The Wings have signed former Columbus Blue Jackets defenseman Mike Commodore to a one-year deal with $1 million.

The deal adds depth to the Wings’ blueline.

The big question is his relationship with coach Mike Babcock.

“Mike Babcock was without a doubt an obstacle in my career,” Commodore told The Columbus Dispatch back in January of 2009.

Babcock dealt Commodore from Anaheim to Calgary in 2003.

“I wanted to prove him wrong, I’m not going to lie,” Commodore continued. “I used him as big-time motivation. I thought he put his best foot forward to bury me.”

“The only thing I ever questioned about Mike was his conditioning,” Babcock told the paper. “In my mind, Mike always has been a quality guy. When he came up, I didn’t think he was in condition. That’s it.”

One response to “Commodore seems like an odd signing for Wings

  1. Randy Arsenault

    Well, they both will now have the chance to prove something to each other, I mean after all doesn’t Babcock have a say in who Holland signs?

Leave a Reply

