This may be it for Modano

DETROIT – Mike Modano may be participating in his last morning skate of his NHL career Friday morning at Joe Louis Arena.

As far as it possibly being his last game, he won’t know that until he arrives to the rink.

“I don’t know anything about (today) until I come in here and see what’s on the board,” Modano said after an optional practice Thursday. “It hurts not being out there. It’s tough to deal with. You do what you can to stay ready.”

Modano has been a healthy scratch each of the first three games of the Wings’ Western Conference semifinal series against the San Jose Sharks.

He’s played one game this postseason, subbing in for an injured Johan Franzen in Game 4 against the Phoenix Coyotes.

“It certainly crossed my mind after the game last night and today that this could be it,” Modano said. “It came quick, but you hate to think this scenario and maybe we can extend it a little longer.

“I don’t think I need to say anything about wanting to play,” Modano added. “I think that’s self explanatory. I don’t think I need to plead my case and make an effort in that sense. You’d love to be a part of it. You miss out at this time of the year. These are exciting times for players.”

Leave a Reply

