No octopus tossing at the JLA

DETROIT — It looks as if the NHL is trying to end a playoff tradition in Detroit that dates back to the early 1950s … tossing an octopus onto the ice.

The Wings released the following statement:

“The throwing of objects onto the ice surface is prohibited by the National Hockey League and persons caught doing so may be subject to prosecution for violating local and state laws.”

It has been reported a fan was arrested and fined $500 for throwing an octopus onto the ice in Game 1.

“I don’t know anything about it,” Babcock said. “I like calamari as much as they next guy. I don’t like batter on it, but I like it spicy and cooked.

“It’s part of the tradition here,” Babcock added. “I just hope the guys that come on to scrape it off aren’t digging up the ice. I want it to be smooth.”

“I haven’t heard any opponents complaining about it,” Nicklas Lidstrom said. “I like the tradition. It’s been going on for a lot of years.

“We feed off the crowd getting into it,” Lidstrom added. “Whether it’s an octopus coming onto the ice or goals being scored, it’s a big boost when our fans get into it.”

Coyotes goalie Ilya Bryzgalov doesn’t mind it either.

“It doesn’t bother me,” he said. “They’re not throwing the whole octopus on me. Otherwise I would stink.”

3 responses to “No octopus tossing at the JLA

  1. Pingback: Red Wings-Coyotes Game 2 set-up: 49 years after the first octopus throw, Wings must break 7:30 rule | The Vancouver Canucks

  2. Pingback: Red Wings-Coyotes Game 2 set-up: 49 years after the first octopus throw, Wings must break 7:30 rule | The Vancouver Canucks

  3. Pingback: The Malik Report | Manly Lawyers

Leave a Reply

