Modano set to retire after playoffs

DETROIT — Mike Modano sounded like a hockey player that has already made up his mind about next season even before this season has finished.

“This is my one last chance at it, so I’m kind of excited about the opportunity,” Modano said Tuesday after practice. “I just hope to make the most of it when I’m called upon.”

Modano was asked if this was going to be his last playoff run and he said, “I think it is. That’s kind of the way I look at it. The last little while, I’ve thought long and hard about it. I’m just going to try to put everything I have into this, and then that’s going to be it for me.”

Modano, 40, will play in the postseason for the first time since 2008 when he was with the Dallas Stars.

Modano won the Stanley Cup with the Stars in 1999.

Leave a Reply

