Bertuzzi may play Saturday; Franzen and Datsyuk both out

DETROIT — All three of the Wings’ injured forwards skated a full practice Friday at Joe Louis Arena, but just one of them may be able to play Saturday night against the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Todd Bertuzzi (sore back) is the closest to returning. Pavel Datsyuk (lower body) and Johan Franzen (groin) will not play.

“I’ll see how it responds and then try the morning skate and see how it feels,” Bertuzzi said. “It’s a lot better than what it was. It wasn’t very good or a while.

“I can’t risk my back like that,” Bertuzzi added. “If I continue to make it worse it’s going to end up getting to a point where I can’t even play. I need to be feeling good, being a forechecker and in front of the net. I got to make sure it’s right before I got back.”

Franzen seems to be the next closest to returning. He thinks he’ll be able to play Monday at home against the Chicago Blackhawks.

“I’m not 100 percent out there,” said Franzen, who has missed three games. “Today was a good practice and one step forward.”

Datsyuk was on the ice since getting injured on March 17 after he was checked into the boards by Columbus’ Rick Nash.

“I’m happy,” Datsyuk said. “(It was almost a) full practice. I need more time.

“I (to) play a few games before the playoffs,” Datsyuk added. “I watched too much this season. I’m tired of watching TV. I want to be on TV.”

Defenseman Jonathan Ericsson missed practice due to an illness. It won’t be known until Saturday morning if Ericsson will play against the Maple Leafs.

Leave a Reply

