Mursak recalled, MacDonald set back to GR

DETROIT — After practice Tuesday, it looked like the Wings were only going to have 10 healthy forwards to play Wednesday night.

That changed when goalie Chris Osgood was cleared to return to his backup role, which meant Joey MacDonald could be sent back to Grand Rapids and a healthy forward could be called up to fill in.

The Wings recalled Jan Mursak, giving them 11 forwards for Wednesday night’s game to go with seven defensemen.

“I don’t think we’ll have (Johan) Franzen, (Pavel) Datsyuk, (Jiri) Hudler or (Todd) Bertuzzi available for tomorrow,” Wings coach Mike Babcock said. “I’m going to try and get some guys some ice time.”

Bertuzzi (back spasms) is the latest forward to go down. Franzen (groin), Datsyuk (lower body) and Hudler (back/shoulder) are the others sidelined.

“(Bertuzzi has) had aches and pains for awhile so he just can’t go,” Babcock said. “We’ll give him a few days and to get himself ready so he can go.”

Hudler and Franzen both skated Tuesday. Datsyuk did not skate.

Hudler, who has not skated since getting injured on his first shift last Wednesday against the Washington Capitals, took part in the full practice.

“I feel like I didn’t skate for a week,” Hudler said. “It’s still really stiff and uncomfortable to move the head. That’s the main reason. I don’t care about the stiffness in my shoulder.

“I’ve played through a lot more stuff than that,” Hudler added. “I want to turn my head around. That’s the main reason. Everybody wants to feel comfortable on the ice. It’s sometimes a little dangerous (if you don’t).”

Franzen left the ice a few minutes after warmups.

Babcock did say if it was the playoffs that all four forwards would play Wednesday.

“I always tell these guys once the playoffs start I’m the team doctor,” Babcock grinned.”Until then I’m not the guy that makes these professional decisions.”

Leave a Reply

