Osgood continues to improve

DETROIT — Wings goalie Chris Osgood’s recovery from sports hernia surgery on Jan. 11 continues to be heading in the right direction.

Osgood has been taken a few shots recently during his half-dozen times on the ice before the full team takes it. He’s hoping to get into a few practice drills as early at Wednesday.

“Hopefully tomorrow I’ll practice with the guys a little bit, not that much, just every day bump it up a little bit,” Osgood said Tuesday. “I’m pretty fired up about it.”

Osgood was on the ice Monday with two other injured Wings, Mike Modano and Valtteri Filppula.

“I feel real good,” Osgood said. “It was encouraging because there really was no pain at all today, just a matter of getting confident enough to move so I can stretch my let to that one side.”

He’s certain he’ll return this season.

“For sure,” Osgood said. “I feel better now. At first I wasn’t happy to (have the surgery) but now I’m happy that I did do it. I feel a lot better. I’ll be back, it’s just a matter of when.”

Osgood said he could return on the Wings’ West Coast trip, which begins Monday in Los Angeles.

“I can’t put a date on it right now,” Osgood said.

He did admit to having doubt about whether or not he would return this season when a few other issues were discovered.

“I thought I was just going to get my hernia done and it was two other things,” Osgood said. “It definitely was in the back of my mind that I wasn’t going to come back this year, just because there was so many issues I had. But now that everything has been done I feel a lot stronger, a lot better.”

One response to “Osgood continues to improve

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Osgood continues to improve | Red Wings Front -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

